Who We Are

Research, Educate, Advocate and Participate

The history of the Council of Women of Winnipeg is full of stories of caring, sharing and hard work. There is probably no other organization that takes on the range of issues as effectively as Council. Members give of their time and of themselves to build communities that are supportive of women, of families and those whose voices are not normally heard by decision makers. They are the watch dogs who can do the research and present alternatives to government policy. They are practical and willing to work for the betterment of the community.


Years in Service


Successful Campaigns


Resolutions Passed


Women Impacted

Our History

History of the Council of Women

Ten Winnipeg women's groups came together on March 27th 1894, to organize the Winnipeg Council, one of the first in Canada.

Our Team

Executive Team

We rely on a team of dedicate volunteers who donate their time to the running to the council.

  • PresidentBrenda Buleziuk 
  • Vice PresidentLori Blande
  • TreasurerArlene Macklem
  • Secretary Susan Hancharyk
  • Membership ChairLaura Hazlitt
  • Program ChairLisa Tarko
  • Communications ChairRandi Gage
  • ResolutionsGisele Saurette Roch
  • ArchivesSandra Kloss
  • Member at LargeArlene Draffin Jones, Kelly Ann Stevenson, Dhruvi Shah, Brandy Bobier, Victoria Lehman
  • Provincial Council of Women (PCWM)Daria Jorquera-Palmer
  • National Council of Women of Canada (NCWC)Marianne Wilkinson